Gao Cong Shui Xian

Gao Cong Shui Xian

Regular price €14,00
Unit price  per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Producer: Mr Li


Location: WuYi Mountains, around Lotus Peak (LianGuaFeng)


Period: Year 2020 - April harvest roasted in September


Our memory trigger: the old Shuixian Trees...


An unexpected encounter gives us the chance to offer this tea: one rainy day in Wuyishan, a tea producer gave us a ride. Since then we regularly delight in his teas.


His Shuixians are some of our favorite Yancha. These Pic du Lotus tea plants were planted by his grandfather in the early 1970s, and are therefore among the first tea plants to be replanted again after the difficult years of the middle of the last century.


The Shuixian are precisely tree tea plants reaching up to over 2 meters in height. In the Wuyi Mountains, apart from a few solitary shrubs, it is the only variety of tea trees that is allowed to grow naturally, because it comes from another tradition, imported only 150 years ago from the coastal areas of Fujian.


Within a decade, this garden will have gained all its acclaim and will produce Laocong Shuixian (Old Shuixian plants) characterized by their woody and mossy taste. For now, these plants less than 60 years old are called Gaocong Shuixian (Shuixian Grand Plan).


This year, this Shuixian stands out for its beautiful classicism: well flowery, slightly mineral, it is also starting to offer woody and slightly mossy aromas. Its originality comes from a beautiful roasting which brings a well buttered structure filling the whole mouth and a distinct brown caramel taste. If we add its fresh finish, we have a tastefull and well-balanced tea.

Gao Cong Shui Xian

Gao Cong Shui Xian

Prix régulier €14,00
Prix unitaire  par 
Taxes incluses. Frais de port calculés à l'étape de paiement.

Producteur : Mr Li

Lieu : Monts WuYi, autour du Pic du Lotus (LianGuaFeng)

Période : Année 2020 - récolte d’avril torréfiée en septembre

Notre madeleine de Proust : les vieux Shuixian...

Une rencontre inattendue nous offre la chance de proposer ce thé : un jour de pluie à Wuyishan, un producteur de thé nous a pris en voiture. Depuis nous nous délectons régulièrement de ses thés.

Ses Shuixian font partie de nos Yancha préférés. Ces théiers du Pic du Lotus ont été plantés par son son grand-père au début des années 70, et font donc partie des premiers théiers à nouveau replanté après les années difficiles du milieu du siècle dernier.

Les Shuixian sont justement des théiers arborescents atteignant jusqu’à plus de 2 mètres de haut. Dans les monts Wuyi, à part quelques arbustes solitaires, c’est la seule variété de théiers qu’on laisse grandir naturellement, parce qu’issue d’une autre tradition, importée seulement il y a 150 ans depuis les zones côtières du Fujian. 

D’ici une décennie, ce jardin aura gagné toutes ses lettres de noblesse et produira des Laocong Shuixian (Vieux plants de Shuixian) caractérisés par leur goût boisé et moussu. Pour l’instant, ces plants vieux de moins de 60 ans portent le nom de Gaocong Shuixian (Grand plan de Shuixian).

Cette année, ce Shuixian se démarque par son beau classicisme: bien fleuri, légèrement minéral, il commence aussi à proposer des arômes boisés et légèrement moussus. Son originalité vient d’une belle torréfaction qui apporte une structure bien beurrée emplissant toute la bouche et un goût de caramel brun bien marqué. Si on ajoute sa finale fraîche, on a un thé gourmand et bien équilibré.